Blog Post #23- Harvard Implicit Test

Image

For the Harvard Implicit test, I decided to take the Gender-Career test. My results showed that I have a moderate association of male with career and female with family compared to female with career and male with family. To a certain extent, I agree with the results since I do think that, many times, I unconsciously link males with being the providers and females with being the care takers. However, I think that these measures are not really that indicative about the way I think and feel since many of the questions had limited options to choose from and I could not really relate to any of them, hence I chose something similar to what I would really feel, but it was not 100% true. Because of that, I think that many of the results can be inaccurate since there is no way to really know who is being honest and who is just making things up and choosing random answers. This suggests, then, that many of the measures campaign organizers use to figure out voters’ attitudes, expectations and more, are not completely truthful. Like it happened to me, many of the surveys and tests use general questions that do not necessarily apply to every person; so they do not truly tell or guarantee that voters’ are that certain way. I believe that campaign managers should not completely rely on these to understand voters since everyone is different and it will never be possible to completely get into people’s minds.

Leave a comment